Wild Shape and Encumbrance

Main Page / House Rules / Druid / Wild Shape / Wild Shape and Encumbrance

You may only merge up to your weight limit in gear when Wild Shaping (the rules do not put a limit, but we do not want anyone to stand on their head, hold the planet Atlas-style, claim they are carrying the planet, and wild-shape the planet out of existence for a few hours!). Also, in the event of changes to your STR score, Wild Shape effectively takes a “snapshot” of your STR score when the ability is used. Subsequent changes to your STR such that your merged load is now greater than your max load have no effect until you try to Wild Shape again, at which point it uses your new STR score.

Also, as an aside, “gear” implies “nonliving gear,” you cannot merge a rat with yourself, for example, even if you are holding it! Note that this distinction only applies to macro-sized living objects, bacteria and parasites and the like do not drop to your feet when you Wild Shape.

Wild Shape and Encumbrance

Wings of Redemption dylanryan