Temporary HP

Main Page / House Rules / Temporary HP

The current rules seem to fail for temporary HP. They are “lost first”, but you never technically LOSE HP. You only track damage and max HP, and then current is max-damage. So, under these rules, if you have 10 max HP, plus 1 temp HP (so max 11), and then take 5 damage, you are at 6HP… until the temporary HP duration expires and it disappears, leaving you with max 10 and 5 damage and 5HP. This is WRONG.

So, we play temporary HP as “preemptive healing” – that is, each point of temporary HP actually cancels out a point of damage that is taken subsequently. Thus, in the above example, you are at 10 max and 1 temp, you take 5 damage, one of which is canceled by the temp HP, leaving you with max 10 and 4 damage (6 current) as the rules intend.

Temporary HP

Wings of Redemption dylanryan